Pobody’s Nerfect

31 Oct

So, it’s been a while. Sorry about that.

Shaun and I made a journey to the USA after Spain for his sister’s wedding and to catch up with friends and family. It was so nice to see everyone, and Christy’s wedding was fun and prettyyy…

Being at Christy’s wedding obviously made me think of me and Shaun’s wedding. I was making mental notes left and right.

“Photo Booth = Cool. See if it fits in budget.”
“Toasts – tell people in advance if you want them to make a toast. Figure out who will be making toasts and when.”
“Cocktail hour music. Figure it out.”
“Blue and orange are pretty together.” 
“Love is the Thing. It needs to be about love.”

And, being in the trenches of wedding arts and crafts hour the nights leading up to the wedding got the whole Truelove clan whipped up into a frenzy of nuptial discussions.

“What kind of food are we going to have at our wedding?”
“What will our colors be?”
“Do we want a photo booth?”
“What about a popcorn machine?”
“Will the caterer be bringing their own tables or do we need to provide those?”
“What kind of dresses are the girls going to wear?”
“Will we have a slide show?”
“Who will be making toasts?”
“Who will be invited to the rehearsal dinner?”

After 14 total days in the USA and approximately 1,400 converstations about The Wedding and 14,000 incoherent thoughts in my own head about The Wedding, I have decided I no longer like planning The Wedding.

In fact, Shaun and I have recently flirted with the idea of a surprise-we’re-home-for-christmas-and-we’re-having-our-wedding-at-the-courthouse-tomorrow type of affair. The conversation went like this:

Me: We could just do it at the Madison courthouse on like the 27th and then go over to the Great Dane afterwards for dinner and drinks. Most people take that week off work anyway.
Shaun: The Great Dane isn’t big enough.
Me: There wouldn’t be many people there since it would be so last minute.
Shaun: True.
Silent Pause
Me: But our families would be so sad if they couldn’t make it.
Silent Pause
Shaun: But, they’d probably get over it.
Me: True
Silent Pause
Me: I am not seriously considering this, you know. We already spent money on the barn and the hotel block.
Shaun: Ok.
….A week later….
Me: I looked into it, and we’d really only be out a couple grand if we did the courthouse thing…

I think about “the courthouse thing” the way I think about buying a pair of $1000 Christian Loubouton shoes. Not going to happen, but damn aren’t they pretty? Let’s fawn over pictures and think about what dresses I would wear them with.

I want! I want! I waaaaant!

Anyhow, I guess the point is this. When I first got engaged, I was SO EXCITED to plan a wedding. All The Pretty Things! But now, the excitement about The Wedding is gone, and all I really want to do is marry Shaun. And be married to him. And end all the conversations and thoughts and expectations that come along with The Wedding.

But, this is what wedding planning is about. The challenge of navigating all those expectations from all those different people and finding a way to fight the good fight where it matters and go with the flow where it doesn’t and come out the other end with all the family and friendly bonds still holding tight. Here we go.

2 Responses to “Pobody’s Nerfect”

  1. Rach April 9, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    Hey, I stumbled across your blog when searching ‘Cedar Hill Barn’ and was excited to see all of your helpful tips! I recently got engaged (2 weeks ago) and after googling and googling (verb?) I came across Cedar Hill and I desperately want my wedding to be there! They are booked through Summer 2012 so I’m trying to get a hold of Gary and Renee to see about next summer. Any tips on how to get a hold of them? I just called today and left a voicemail so hopefully they will get in touch. Anyways, best of luck with your upcoming wedding!

    • April - TrueloveNuptials April 11, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      Congratulations! I just emailed Renee to set up a time to visit then we figured out all the available dates when we were there. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

