The Guys of the Neighborhood

8 Aug

Cairo is starting to feel like home to me now. Zamalek feels like ‘my’ neighborhood, like a place where I “know” everyone.  I use the term “know” loosely. I definitely don’t know everyone the way I knew everyone in Fort Recovery – I mean I don’t think I will ever know as much about my neighbor’s job/kids/wife/husband/grandparents/lives as I did growing up in a town of 1500 people. But I digress.

I “know” the people in Zamalek by a combination of their face and job/street location. I don’t know their names for the most part, nor do they know mine. I am sure they just think of me as the blonde girl that lives in that-building-over-there.

Take, for example, the Baraka Guy. He is the Baraka guy that has a beard and feeds that stray cat while he cooks up the best tasting shawarma sandwich a girl could ask for. There’s the Convenience Store Guy. He is actually a 12ish year old kid who runs the convenience store down the street in the evenings (I actually do know his name – it’s Abdu). There’s the Ironing Guy who also doubles as the translator guy. There’s the bowab guy (door man) for our building, and the bowabs for the buildings around us.  There’s the ironing guy’s delivery guy, the veggie store guy, and the guy who sits on our corner doing nothing. Then, there’s the guy who runs trays of  tea to all the other guys. Lots and lots of guys. They are always there, right in the same place, everyday. See? Home.

Oh, and there’s that guy who always sits next to me on the couch (like he is right now) and puts up with me wanting to watch illegally downloaded episodes of Big Brother all the time. He’s always there too. Right next to me. Every night. I like that guy.

2 Responses to “The Guys of the Neighborhood”

  1. Briget August 11, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Haha Love it! & that’s awesome ur keeping up with Big Brother!!! I love-love-LOVE it!!! …just missing one thing…you siting next to me while my mom makes us margaritas & snacks!!! :)) ohhh, the good ole days!!!<3 BB 13 is definitely 'one' of my favorite seasons!

    Miss you friend!!!! xoxo

    • April - TrueloveNuptials August 11, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      Man, it would be so awesome if I could have you sitting next to me and your mom making margs in the kitchen! I miss that! BTW – I am calling it right now. I think Shelly is going to win this season.

Leave a Reply

