A Letter to the Pyramids

9 Jul

Dear Pyramids,

I wanted so badly to enjoy my time visiting you. I wanted to stand in amazement at your size and grandeur. I wanted to stare and wonder how on Earth you ever were built. I wanted to feel small and humbled by your wonder.

But, I couldn’t.

You see, even though I live here, I am a tourist. And, because of that, many of the people working around you see me as their meal ticket. And, they are hungry. You see, Pyramids, I had to be on the defense during my entire visit to see you.

Rather than staring at you with time to let my mind wander, I was coerced into riding a camel around you. This sounded like fun, I thought.

But it wasn’t.

Unbeknownst to us, we arrived too late to get into the Pyramids on a camel. But, the man who was taking us on the tour did not tell us this. Instead, we went through the gates quickly while the guard was away. Later, we were told to lie to anyone looking official so we would not get in trouble. Pyramids, if the man had told me before taking us through the gates that we were not supposed to be going in, I would have stopped right there. I hate lying. Especially to police officials in a foreign country. So, it is five minutes into our camel ride, and now all I want to do is be done with it. I want to get out of there before we get caught and need to lie.

I’m on edge.

I’m on edge, and now I have to ride straddled behind this stranger who is breaking the rules and I am pretty sure is trying to rip us off. I am not happy.

But, I smile for the camera.

Finally, we are leaving. We only spent about 30 minutes around you, Pyramids, and we never got up close. But that’s ok because I just want to get out before we get in trouble.

We pay the agreed upon fee for the shortened and less than enjoyable tour. Great, I think. We are done with this fiasco. But the man wants a tip. A tip?! No way. He makes us feel guilty. “The fee goes to the owners of the camel, not to me,” he says. We leave without tipping. I feel bad and frustrated. And angry. And still on edge.

Still, I thought the day could be saved. As you know, Pyramids, you are lit up each night with a sound and light show. But, we had an hour or so to kill before this started. We wanted to get a bite to eat while we waited. While we were walking and searching for a good restaurant, we were constantly mobbed with people asking if we need a cab or a horse drawn carriage or any other number of things that we will be over-charged for.

It was very hot. I was hungry. Pyramids, I started to get really angry.

I started to say “No” loudly, shake my head vigorously and walk away quickly from these people. Well, that made one particular man very mad. He started following me and looking at me as though he wanted to hurt me in some way, and he wouldn’t stop. Now, I was scared. I started to cry. It was all too much. The whole day was not going as I wanted.

I had to leave.

Pyramids, I want to give you another chance. I want to have a positive experience with you in the future. I hope better planning and proper expectations can help this happen soon.

Until then,

April

3 Responses to “A Letter to the Pyramids”

  1. mujerboricua July 19, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    How sad that your visit and experience was so horrible. Don’t give up hope! Maybe you can return with an authorized tour group? I hear it’s better to travel in packs in Cairo, but I’ve never been so I can’t say for sure. I bet you’ll figure out the best, safest way to visit those Pyramids again.

    • April - TrueloveNuptials July 30, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

      Yes, I am thinking the next time I go back, I will go JUST for the light show or go very early in the morning and avoid the camels/horses. And, arrange a driver since the taxi driver we had the last time was the one who hooked us up with the camels (pyramid scheme – no pun intended). It seems every taxi driver has a ‘friend’ at the pyramids who can get us ‘the best prices.’ 😉

  2. Susan Elabd September 2, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Don’t ever go with the people that try to take you in from outside the pyramid grounds entrance….they will always do things in a dishonest manner & charge you wayyy to much. go early & don’t talk to anyone until you are actually inside. I’m an American born Egyptian and I did make these mistakes last summer while visiting those pointy things my ancestors built…so I thought I would share 🙂 Don’t let them intimidate you, show them whos boss & you will find they are actually the kindest people in the world! Once you get past the annoying ones 😛

Leave a Reply

